Questions about the electric scooter

Frequently Asked Questions

Modern electric scooters sometimes differ greatly from conventional scooters with combustion engines. If you are interested in an electric scooter, you usually have a lot of questions. We want to help you to answer your questions and have therefore compiled and answered the most important questions about electric scooters.

Torrot_Muvi_Elektroroller

General information

What are the benefits of an e-scooter?

  • Costs: For everyday use an e-scooter is clearly more cost-efficient than other means of transport including scooters with a combustion engines. Per 100 km the cost for an e-scooter is about a quarter of a traditional scooter. And there are hardly any maintenance costs.
  • Flexibility: An e-scooter can be charged at any conventional wall socket no matter if at home or in the office. Today most batteries are removable and can be loaded very comfortably in any room. There is no more looking for a charging station.
  • Practicability: An e-scooter is waiting for you right outside the front door - no matter if you live in the urban canyons of Stuttgart or in the fancy district of Schwabing (Munich). You just ride past the traffic jam, looking for parking space is much easier - what more do you want on your way to work in the morning?
  • Emissions: Emissions? Nothing. Anyone who picks up their bicycle in the morning for environmental reasons can also pick uptheir electric scooter right away: The local emissionswhile riding are also zero! The driver of an electric scooter does not have to take a shower at work...
  • Riding pleasure: Can the way to work be fun? Certainly! With an e-scooter. Everyday life is lifetime, too! Why not make your way to work an experience?
  • Lifestyle: An e-scooter is not only a means of transport, but a lifestyle product. What years ago made a lot of noise today is a futuristically purring e-scooter. Envious looks included ...

What are the biggest differences between electric scooters and scooters with combustion engines?

  • E-scooters run on electricity, not petrol. They need batteries, depending on the model they sometimes are removable.
  • "Filling up", i.e. charging the battery, can usually be done at any conventional household socket.
  • Depending on the model the battery can be fully charged after a few hours.
  • During braking, energy is recovered through so-called recuperation. If you drive carefully, you can therefore partially recharge the battery while driving.
  • The range of an e-scooter is normally completely sufficient for everyday use in the city. Some models have a range of 100 km per battery charge.
  • Different from scooters with combustion engines e-scooters hardly make any noise. Normally there is just a faint purr.
  • By immediate energy transmission into acceleration e-scooters can set off very fast. 

What type of e-scooter suits me best?

This depends on what you need and what design you like best. For this purpose we have installed a filtering function on this site.

Generally speaking the following criteria are decisive in most cases:

  • Engine power: Electric scooters with low engine power (e.g. 2 hp, 1.4 kW or 1400 watts) provide less acceleration and also less speed on the mountain. So if you prefer a good acceleration and like to drive fast in hilly areas, you should buy a scooter with higher engine power, e.g. a scooter with 4 kW (about 5.44 hp or 4000 watts). It should be noted, however, that for an electric scooter more than 4 kW (approx. 5.44 hp or 4000 watts) a higher driving license than AM or B is required. More details below under driving licence / legal.
  • Removable battery: If you don't have your own garage or a parking space with socket (e.g. in rented flats in the middle of the city), you should urgently buy an electric scooter with removable battery. Otherwise you will have problems charging the battery. 
  • Range: Also with the range you should consider which distances you would like to cover without having to stop loading. For short distances to work (up to 30 km) you can buy almost any electric scooter nowadays. For longer distances (up to 100 km) you should urgently follow the manufacturer's instructions and make sure that the desired range can really be achieved. You can find the ranges at the individual scooters on our page. Important here: Factors such as cold, driving behaviour, gradients or loading can negatively affect the range. 
  • Charging time: If you travel a lot and have to load frequently, you should make sure you buy a scooter with the shortest possible loading time. You can also find the loading times in the technical data of the individual E-scooters on this page.
  • Costs: In the acquisition costs the scooters differ nowadays very much. Especially if the design should play a big role, you often have to bring a few thousand euros more. In the daily consumption there are hardly differences with the electricity costs. Many manufacturers state the costs on 100 km. Most of the time you are under one Euro per 100 km. 
  • Guarantee: Many manufacturers offer their own warranty on the scooter or battery. So if you want to be additionally secured apart from the legal warranty rights, you should also include the respective warranty offers in your purchase decision.  
  • Pillion rider possible: Not all e-scooters have two seats. So if you want to take along a partner, you should ensure that the scooter has two seats.
  • Climbing performance: Many manufacturers state the gradeability of electric scooters. Especially if you drive in hilly areas you should take a look at the climbing ability. The higher the watt/hp/kW number, the better the climbing ability.
  • Body height: Body size also plays a role in the choice of scooter. From a height of 1.90 m you should pay close attention to the dimensions of the scooter, especially the legroom. Otherwise it can happen that you bump with your legs, which of course has negative effects on the riding pleasure.

Range

What range do electric scooters have?

This also varies from model to model. Some modern electric scooters have a range of over 100 km. However, factors such as cold, driving behaviour, gradients or loading can negatively affect the range. 

Information on the range of the different scooters you will find with the technical data on this site. 

Charging time / Battery

Where can I charge my scooter?

With modern e-scooters the battery can very easily be removed by hand and comfortably charged at every wall socket in the house.

Normally e-scooters are sold with a charging cable; it should always be kept in the vehicle.

How long does it take to charge the battery?

That is different with the individual models and it also depends on the battery and the charger. Some scooters are fully charged after two hours already, others need four hours or even longer. 

More information about charging time is to be found at "Technical Data" on this site. 

Can I take the battery into my flat for charging?

With recent models the battery can be removed and comfortably charged at a normal wall socket. This is especially useful if you don’t have your own garage and the scooter is parked in the street.  

Must the battery be completely discharged ?

No, not at all. Depending on the individual battery it could sometimes even be better, if it is not completely empty before charging it again.

Is there the possibility of an "emergency charge" when the scooter stops unexpectedly?

Yes, certainly. You can charge the battery at a wall socket at any time. The charging time differs with the individual models. Sometimes you will need some minutes only before continuing on your way.

What about battery maintenance?

If possible, the battery should never be completely empty. It is better to charge it after usage and also to use it regularly. In winter the battery should be fully charged before storing and reloaded every few weeks. It also should be kept dry and not too cold. As the models differ in this respect it is best to ask the manufacturer what to do.

Which of the two types of battery is best?

Most electric scooters have either lead-acid or lithium-ion batteries. A scientific discussion would go beyond the scope of this article, but the following can be said:

  • Lead batteries as a rule are very robust and defy low temperatures but have a shorter lifespan.
  • Lithium-Ionen-Akkus partly lose their charge in the cold, but they last longer.

Which battery one chooses thus depends on what is required.

Costs

What are the costs of an e-scooter compared to a scooter with combustion engine?

Buying an e-scooter is sometimes more expensive than a traditional scooter with combustion engine. But as a rule e-scooters are cheaper in daily use. Depending on the power provider and the model, an e-scooter can possibly cost less than 1.0 euro per 100 km. Traditional scooters are about 4 euros per 100 km, depending on the model and the fuel provider.

What about maintenance costs of an e-scooter?

Because of their hub motors e-scooters have fewer wear parts than traditional scooters with combustion engines and thus normally don´t need much maintenance.

Driving license / Legal aspects

Which driving license is required for an e-scooter?

The following applies to Germany:

From 15 years of age young people need a special certificate to ride an e-scooter with a top speed of 45 km/h if it has been throttled to 25 km/h.

Note: Many of the E-scooters offered on the market with a maximum speed of 45 km/h can also be purchased throttled to 25 km/h.

From 16 years on people can use e-scooters with a top speed of 45 km/h; they need driving license AM or A1.

A driving license from 17 years on (BF 17) also entitles to ride an e-scooter with a top speed of 45 km/h (no company of an adult needed).

From 18 years on driving license B (car) and Motorcycle license A and A2 are valid for all models from 25 to 45 km/h. However, minimum age for license A is 24 years (for immediate start) and 20 years after having had license A2 for two years.

E-scooters with top speed over 45 km/h at least need license A1, depending on the power of the scooter even higher licenses (A, A2) could be required.

Please make sure you have the license needed for the e-scooter you want to buy.

Is there a helmet duty for e-scooters?

Yes. there is! Whoever rides a motorbike of any kind going faster than 20 km/h has to wear a protection helmet. This does not apply if you use safety belts as required.

Is there an obligatory inspection for e-scooters?

Basically, it certainly always makes sense to bring the e-Scooter to an inspection on a regular basis in order to detect problems at an early stage and have them remedied before damage occurs. If your contractual partner has issued a guarantee in the purchase, the existence of the guarantee can even be made dependent on whether you have met all the inspection deadlines. Therefore, we recommend that you read your contract documents carefully right at the beginning so that you do not overlook such clauses in the first place and possibly lose your warranty claims. 

Insurance / Taxes / Registration

Do I need a registration for an e-scooter up to 45 km/h?

No, you don´t! Registration as needed for cars is not required for e-scooters. You needn´t get an operating permit for your e-scooter from the registration office. What you need, however, is a valid insurance and an insurance indicator proving that the scooter is insured. 

Do I need an insurance for an e-scooter?

Yes, you do! For your e-scooter you need a valid insurance and an insurance indicator proving the existence of the insurance. Insurance indicators are sold by any agency. Nowadays you can also apply for an insurance to be sent to you online. As a rule they will want to know the manufacturer of the e-scooter, chassis number, drive type and year of construction. Very important: The insurance indicator is valid for one year only and must be applied for actively with the insurance company from the 1st of March every year.

Do I have to pay motor vehicle tax for an electric scooter with a maximum speed of 45 km/h?

No! Electric scooters with a maximum speed of 45 km/h are considered to be mopeds and are therefore classified according to § 3 Abs. 2 d) FZV i.V.m. § 3 No. 1 Kraftfahrzeugsteuergesetz from the motor vehicle tax exempted.

Do traffic bans apply to e-scooters?

No, but the road traffic regulations apply to electric scooters as they do to all other vehicles. Electric scooters, like all other vehicles, may therefore not be driven on the pavement or in the pedestrian zone on the cycle path.

Technical Details

How much hp is 1,000 watts?

1,000 watts are equivalent to 1.36 hp.

When does a higher wattage of a scooter make sense?

Higher current power can be recommendable in hilly or mountainous areas or when two people are on the scooter.

What is it, a wheel hub motor?

Electric scooters usually have a so-called wheel hub motor. The wheel hub motor (sometimes only called "hub motor") is characterized by the fact that, in contrast to conventional drive concepts, it sits directly on the wheel hub of the wheel, is therefore part of the wheel and therefore drives the wheel directly. A chain like the one known from conventional scooters or motorcycles with combustion engines becomes unnecessary. The wheel hub drive has several advantages. Since it is a direct component of the wheel, the wheel hub motor has a significantly higher efficiency. Losses due to additional mechanical components, such as cardan shafts, gears or chains, are eliminated. The space gained under the bonnet can also be used for larger and more powerful batteries.

Repair

Who pays for the repair of an e-scooter?

That depends!

If there is a damage that you have caused yourself, you or your insurance will have to pay for it. In this case a look at your insurance documents can be worthwhile.

Should there be a defect that the scooter already had when delivered or if deficient manufacturing of the vehicle has lead to a defect, you should contact your trade partner. This can be the manufacturer who has sold you the scooter directly or the dealer. In each case it is important what your contract says. If you have a guaranty for several years you can possibly refer to it. But it depends on what exactly the guaranty has been given for. Sometimes it is only for the battery and not for the complete scooter.

If the contract does not contain any guarantee or similar additions (e.g. "Seller undertakes repairs of any kind for two years after conclusion of the purchase contract"), the question is whether you can assert legal warranty rights against the seller. You must then (in writing, with a period of at least 2 weeks) request the contractual partner to remedy this defect. The contractual partner must then either repair the electric scooter at his own expense, or provide you with a new electric scooter. Under certain circumstances, damages, reduction of the purchase price or withdrawal from the contract may also be possible, but this depends on the circumstances of the individual case. The statutory warranty claims expire 2 years after delivery of the scooter.

How long is the guarantee for e-scooters?

First of all, it must be clarified whether your contractual partner has given a guarantee at all; he is not legally obliged to do so. Guarantees can be issued by the seller in addition to the buyer's statutory warranty rights. The seller often guarantees to cover repair costs for a longer period beyond the statutory limitation period for warranty rights (2 years) in order to offer an additional incentive to buy. Whether such a guarantee was given in individual cases by the seller, you can usually see from the sales contract.

Important: Guarantees are often only given under certain conditions, e.g. when regular inspection dates or similar are observed.  

Where can I have my e-scooter repaired?

Who'd have thought it? In a garage! There are now many garages that specialize in the repair of electric scooters. If you have specific repair needs for your electric scooter, we recommend that you contact the seller of the scooter. This can be either the manufacturer himself, if he sells directly, or a dealer. Both the manufacturer and the dealer usually work together with a service network from many garages. In most cases a look at the homepage of your contract partner will help.

Fragen zum Elektroroller

Fragen zu E-Rollern

Moderne Elektroroller unterscheiden sich mitunter stark von herkömmlichen Rollern mit Verbrennungsmotor. Wer sich für einen E-Scooter interessiert, hat daher in der Regel jede Menge Fragen. Wir wollen Dir dabei helfen, Deine Fragen zu beantworten und haben daher die wichtigsten Fragen zu Elektrorollern zusammengestellt und beantwortet.

Torrot_Muvi_Elektroroller

Allgemeines​

Was sind die Vorteile eines Elektrorollers?

  • Kosten: Der Elektroroller ist im Alltag deutlich kostengünstiger als andere Verkehrsmittel und insbesondere auch als ein Roller mit Verbrennungsmotor. Ein Elektroroller kostet auf 100 km etwa ein Viertel dessen, was ein Roller mit Verbrennungsmotor kosten würde. Zudem fallen kaum Wartungskosten an.
  • Flexibilität: Der Elektroroller kann an jeder herkömmlichen Steckdose geladen werden, egal ob zuhause oder im Büro. Die meisten Akkus sind heutzutage entnehmbar und können auch in jedem Zimmer bequem geladen werden. Die Suche nach Tankstellen erübrigt sich dadurch.
  • Praktikabilität: Der E-Roller wartet direkt vor der Haustür – egal ob man in den engen Häuserschluchten von Stuttgart oder im schicken Schwabing wohnt. Im Stau fährt man einfach an den Autos vorbei, die Parkplatzsuche ist ebenfalls deutlich entspannter – was will man eigentlich morgens auf dem Weg zur Arbeit mehr?
  • Emissionen: Emissionen? Fehlanzeige. Wer aus Gründen des Umweltschutzes morgens zum Fahrrad greift, kann auch gleich zum Elektroroller greifen: Die Ausstöße beim Fahren sind lokal ebenfalls gleich Null! Der Fahrer eines Elektrorollers muss sich aber bei der Arbeit nicht mehr duschen…
  • Fahrvergnügen: Kann der Weg zur Arbeit eigentlich Spaß machen? Ja er kann! Mit einem E-Roller. Auch Alltag ist Lebenszeit! Warum nicht den Weg zur Arbeit zum Erlebnis machen?
  • Lifestyle: Der Elektroroller ist kein Fortbewegungsmittel, er ist ein Lifestyleprodukt. Bewundernde Blicke sind inbegriffen…

Was sind die größten Unterschiede zwischen Elektrorollern und Rollern mit Verbrennungsmotor?

  • Elektroroller sind mit Strom betrieben, nicht mit Benzin. Elektroroller enthalten daher Akkus, die je nach Modell entnehmbar sind oder nicht.
  • Das „Tanken“, also das Aufladen des Akkus, kann in der Regel an jeder herkömmlichen Haushaltssteckdose erfolgen.
  • Je nach Modell kann der Akku bereits nach wenigen Stunden voll geladen sein.
  • Beim Bremsen wird durch die sogenannte Rekuperation Energie wiedergewonnen. Wer umsichtig fährt, kann daher bei der Fahrt den Akku zum Teil wieder aufladen.
  • Die Reichweite der E-Roller ist für den gewöhnlichen Stadtgebrauch völlig ausreichend, zum Teil erreichen Elektroroller Reichweiten um die 100 km pro Ladung.
  • Im Gegensatz zu Rollern mit (Benzin-)Verbrennungsmotor sind die E-Roller weitgehend geräuschlos. Mehr als ein leises Surren ist in der Regel nicht zu vernehmen.
  • Durch die direkte Umsetzung der Energie in Beschleunigung können E-Roller sehr schnell anfahren. 

Welcher Elektroroller passt am besten zu mir?

Das hängt von Deinen Bedürfnissen und auch von Deinen Design-Vorlieben ab. Wir haben zu diesem Zweck bei den Elektrorollern auf dieser Seite entsprechende Filterfunktionen.

Ganz generell gibt es vor allem die folgenden Kriterien, die in den meisten Fällen ausschlaggebend sind:

  • Motorleistung: Elektroroller mit geringer Motorleistung (z.B. 2 PS, 1,4 kW oder 1400 Watt) sorgen für eine geringere Beschleunigung und auch weniger Geschwindigkeit am Berg. Wer also Wert legt auf eine gute Beschleunigung und auch gerne in hügeligen Gegenden schnell unterwegs ist, sollte sich einen Roller mit höherer Motorleistung anschaffen, z.B. einen Roller mit 4 kW (ca. 5,44 PS oder 4000 Watt). Zu beachten ist allerdings, dass man für einen Elektroroller über 4 kW (ca. 5,44 PS oder 4000 Watt) einen höheren Führerschein als AM oder B benötigt. Näheres weiter unten unter Führerschein / Rechtliches.
  • Akku entnehmbar: Wer keine eigene Garage oder einen Stellplatz mit Steckdose hat (z.B. bei Mietwohnungen mitten in der Innenstadt), sollte sich dringend einen Elektroroller mit entnehmbaren Akku anschaffen. Andernfalls bekommt man Probleme mit dem Aufladen. 
  • Reichweite: Auch bei der Reichweite sollte man sich überlegen, welche Strecken man zurücklegen möchte ohne zwischenladen zu müssen. Für kurze Strecken zur Arbeit (bis 30 km) kann man heutzutage eigentlich fast jeden Elektroroller kaufen. Für längere Strecken (bis 100 km) sollte man dringend die jeweiligen Herstellerangaben beachten und sich versichern, dass die gewünschte Reichweite auch wirklich erreicht werden kann. Die Reichweiten findest Du bei den einzelnen Rollern auf unserer Seite. Wichtig hierbei: Faktoren wie z.B. Kälte, Fahrverhalten, Steigungen oder Beladung können die Reichweite negativ beeinträchtigen. 
  • Ladezeit: Wer viel unterwegs ist und häufig laden muss, sollte darauf achten, sich einen Roller mit möglichst kurzer Ladezeit anzuschaffen. Die Ladezeiten findest Du ebenfalls bei den technischen Daten der einzelnen E-Scooter auf dieser Seite.
  • Kosten: In den Anschaffungskosten unterscheiden sich die Roller heutzutage sehr. Gerade wenn das Design eine große Rolle spielen soll, muss man oftmals ein paar tausend Euro mehr mitbringen. Im täglichen Verbrauch gibt es kaum Unterschiede bei den Stromkosten. Viele Hersteller geben die Kosten auf 100 km an. Meist ist man mit unter einem Euro auf 100 km dabei. 
  • Garantie: Viele Hersteller bieten eine eigene Garantie auf Roller bzw. den Akku an. Wer also abgesehen von den gesetzlichen Gewährleistungsrechten zusätzlich abgesichert sein möchte, sollte auch die jeweiligen Garantieangebote bei der Kaufentscheidung miteinbeziehen.  
  • Beifahrer möglich: Nicht alle Roller bieten Platz für 2 Personen. Wer daher gerne zu zweit unterwegs ist, sollte auch darauf achten, dass der jeweilige E-Roller über zwei Sitze verfügt.
  • Steigfähigkeit: Viele Hersteller geben die Steigfähigkeit der Elektroroller an. Gerade wenn man in hügeligen Gegenden fährt sollte man auch auf die Steigfähigkeit einen Blick werfen. Je höher die Watt-/ PS-/ kW- Zahl, desto besser die Steigfähigkeit.
  • Körpergröße: Auch die Körpergröße spielt eine Rolle bei der Wahl des Rollers. Ab einer Körpergröße von 1,90 m sollte man genau auf die Maße des Rollers, insbesondere die Beinfreiheit, achten. Ansonsten kann es vorkommen, dass man mit den Beinen anstößt, was natürlich negative Auswirkungen auf das Fahrvergnügen hat.

Reichweite

Welche Reichweite haben Elektroroller?

Auch das ist von Modell zu Modell unterschiedlich. Moderne Elektroroller haben zum Teil eine Reichweite von über 100 km. Faktoren wie z.B. Kälte, Fahrverhalten, Steigungen oder Beladung können die Reichweite aber negativ beeinträchtigen. 

Die Reichweite der einzelnen Roller findest Du bei den technischen Daten der Roller auf dieser Seite. 

Ladezeit / Akku​

Wo kann ich den Elektroroller laden?

Bei modernen Elektrorollern kann man den Akku mit einem Handgriff aus dem Rollern nehmen und bequem in der eigenen Wohnung oder an jeder anderen Haushaltssteckdose aufladen.

Die E-Roller werden normalerweise mit einem Ladekabel geliefert, das man immer beim Roller mitführen sollte.

Wie hoch ist die Ladedauer eines Elektrorollers?

Das ist von Modell zu Modell unterschiedlich und hängt auch von Akku und Ladegerät ab. Es gibt Roller, die bereits nach 2 Stunden aufgeladen sind, andere Elektroroller benötigen zum Teil 4 Stunden oder mehr. 

Wie lange die einzelnen Roller für das Aufladen benötigen findest Du bei den technischen Daten der Roller auf dieser Seite. 

Kann ich den Akku zum Laden mit in die Wohnung nehmen?

Bei vielen neuen Modellen ist der Akku entnehmbar und kann daher bequem in der eigenen Wohnung an einer normalen Haussteckdose geladen werden. Das ist natürlich gerade dann praktisch, wenn man den Roller mangels eigener Garage auf der Straße abstellen muss und dort keine Steckdose zur Verfügung hat.  

Muss der Akku komplett entladen werden?

Nein. Je nach Akku Typ ist es sogar besser, wenn die Batterien zwischendurch geladen werden und nicht vor dem Ladevorgang nahezu entladen sind.

Kann ich den Elektroroller „notladen“ wenn er stehen bleibt?

Klar, Du kannst den Akku jederzeit an jeder Haussteckdose laden. Die Ladedauer ist von Modell zu Modell unterschiedlich. Manchmal genügen schon einige Minuten, um zum Ziel weiterfahren zu können.

Wie pflege ich den Akku am besten?

Nach Möglichkeit sollte der Akku niemals vollständig entladen sein. Sinnvoller ist es daher, den Akku nach dem Gebrauch wieder aufzuladen und regelmäßig zu benutzen. Im Winter sollte der Akku vor der Einlagerung vollgeladen sein und alle paar Wochen nachgeladen werden. Der Akku sollte zudem trocken und nicht zu kalt gelagert werden. Da es von Modell zu Modell Unterschiede geben kann, sollte man sich bei Fragen an den jeweiligen Hersteller richten.

Welcher Akkutyp ist der beste?

Die meisten Elektroroller haben entweder Bleiakkus oder Lithium-Ionen-Akkus. Eine wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung würde hier den Rahmen sprengen, man kann aber folgendes festhalten:

  • Bleiakkus sind in der Regel sehr robust und trotzen auch kalten Temperaturen. Dafür haben sie eine kürzere Lebensdauer.
  • Lithium-Ionen-Akkus verlieren teilweise bei Kälte an Ladung, dafür halten sie deutlich länger.

Für welchen Akkutyp man sich entscheidet, hängt dementsprechend mal wieder von den eigenen Bedürfnissen ab.

Kosten

Was kostet ein E-Roller im Vergleich zu einem Roller mit Verbrennungsmotor?

In der Anschaffung sind Elektroroller zum Teil teurer als herkömmliche Roller mit Verbrennungsmotor. Dafür sind sie in der Regel im Alltag billiger. Je nach Stromanbieter und Modell kann man einen Elektroroller für unter einem Euro auf 100 km fahren. Bei Rollern mit Verbrennungsmotor muss man je nach Modell und Treibstoffanbieter mit ca. 4 Euro auf 100 km rechnen.

Wie hoch sind die Wartungskosten bei einem Elektroroller?

Elektroroller haben bspw. aufgrund des Nabenantriebes deutlich weniger Verschleißteile als ein herkömmlicher Roller mit Verbrennungsmotor und deshalb in der Regel nur einen vergleichsweise geringen Wartungsbedarf.

Führerschein/ Rechtliches

Welchen Führerschein benötigt man für einen Elektroroller?

Für Deutschland gilt Folgendes:

Ab 15 Jahren darf man mit einer Prüfbescheinigung E-Roller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 25 km/h fahren.

Hinweis: Viele der am Markt angebotenen E-Roller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 45 km/h kann man auch auf 25 km/h gedrosselt kaufen.

Ab 16 Jahren kann man Elektroroller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 45 km/h mit einem Führerschein der Klasse AM oder A1 fahren.

Der Führerschein ab 17 Jahren (Führerscheinklasse BF 17) berechtigt ebenfalls zum Führen eines E-Rollers mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 45 km/h, auch ohne Begleitung.

Ab dem 18. Lebensjahr dürfen Besitzer eines Autoführerscheins (Klasse B) oder der Motorradführerscheine (A, A2) alle 25-45 km/h-Modelle fahren. Das Mindestalter für einen A-Führerschein beträgt allerdings 24 Jahre (für Direkteinstieg), 20 Jahre (bei mind. 2 Jahren Vorbesitz der Klasse A2).

Für Elektroroller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit über 45 km/h ist mindestens die Führerscheinklasse A1 erforderlich, je nach Leistung des E-Rollers ist sogar eine höhere Führerscheinklasse (A, A2) erforderlich.

Informier Dich also vor einem Kauf, ob Du den jeweils erforderlichen Führerschein hast.

Gibt es für Elektroroller eine Helmpflicht?

Ja! Wer Krafträder mit einer bauartbedingten Höchstgeschwindigkeit von über 20 km/h führt sowie auf oder in ihnen mitfährt, muss gemäß § 21a Abs. 2 StVO während der Fahrt einen geeigneten Schutzhelm tragen. Dies gilt nicht, wenn vorgeschriebene Sicherheitsgurte angelegt sind.

Muss ich mit dem Elektroroller zur Inspektion?

Grundsätzlich macht es sicherlich immer Sinn, den E-Roller regelmäßig zu einer Inspektion zu bringen, um Probleme frühzeitig erkennen und beheben zu lassen, bevor ein Schaden entsteht. Hat Dein Vertragspartner im Kauf eine Garantie erteilt, kann das Bestehen der Garantie sogar davon abhängig gemacht werden, ob Du alle Inspektionstermine eingehalten hast. Daher empfehlen wir Dir, Deine Vertragsunterlagen gleich zu Beginn sorgfältig zu lesen, damit Du derartige Klauseln gar nicht erst übersiehst und womöglich Deine Garantieansprüche verlierst. 

Versicherung/ Steuern/ Zulassung

Benötige ich für einen 45 km/h Elektroroller eine Zulassung?

Nein! Eine Zulassung, wie man es für das Auto kennt, benötigt man für einen Elektroroller nicht. Du musst also nicht zu einer Zulassungsstelle, um eine Betriebserlaubnis für den E-Roller zu beantragen. Was Du allerdings benötigst, um einen Elektroroller auf der Straße fahren zu dürfen, ist eine gültige Versicherung und ein Versicherungskennzeichen, das das Bestehen einer wirksamen Versicherung bestätigt. 

Benötige ich für meinen Elektroroller eine Versicherung?

Ja! Für Deinen Elektroroller benötigst Du eine gültige Versicherung und ein Versicherungskennzeichen, das das Bestehen einer wirksamen Versicherung bestätigt. Versicherungskennzeichen kann man bei jeder Versicherungsagentur erhalten und mittlerweile meist auch bequem Online beantragen und sich zusenden lassen. Notwendig sind i.d.R. Angaben zum Hersteller, der Fahrgestellnummer (Fahrzeug-Identifikationsnummer), Antriebsart und Baujahr. Wichtig: das Versicherungskennzeichen ist jeweils nur für ein Jahr gültig ist und muss ab dem 1. März eines jeden Jahres aktiv neu bei der Versicherung beantragt werden.

Muss ich für einen Elektroroller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 45 km/h Kfz-Steuer zahlen?

Nein! Elektroroller mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 45 km/h gelten als Kleinkrafträder und sind daher gemäß § 3 Abs. 2 d) FZV i.V.m. § 3 Nr. 1 Kraftfahrzeugsteuergesetz von der Kfz-Steuer befreit.

Gelten Fahrverbote für Elektroroller?

Nein, allerdings gilt für Elektroroller wie für alle anderen Fahrzeuge die Straßenverkehrsordnung. Elektroroller darf man daher wie alle anderen Fahrzeuge z.B. nicht auf dem Gehsteig oder in der Fußgängerzone auf dem Radweg fahren.

Technische Informationen

Wieviel PS sind 1000 Watt?

1000 Watt entsprechen 1,36 PS.

Wann macht ein Roller mit vergleichsweise höherer Wattleistung Sinn?

Mehr Leistung ist beispielsweise dann gut, wenn Du in einer hügeligen oder gebirgigen Umgebung fahren willst oder zu zweit unterwegs bist.

Was ist ein Radnabenmotor?

Elektroroller verfügen in der Regel über einen sogenannten Radnabenmotor. Der Radnabenmotor (manchmal auch nur „Nabenmotor“ genannt) zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass er im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Antriebskonzepten direkt auf der Radnabe des Rades sitzt, somit Bestandteil des Rades ist und das Rad daher direkt antreibt. Eine Kette, wie man sie von herkömmlichen Rollern oder Motorrädern mit Verbrennungsmotor kennt, wird dadurch überflüssig. Der Radnabenantrieb hat gleich mehrere Vorteile. Da er direkter Bestandteil des Rades ist, hat der Radnabenmotor einen deutlich höheren Wirkungsgrad. Verluste wegen zusätzlicher mechanischer Komponenten, wie z.B. Gelenkwellen, Getriebe oder Ketten, fallen weg. Der gewonnene Platz unter der Motorhaube kann außerdem für größere und leistungsfähigere Akkus genutzt werden.

Reparatur

Wer zahlt die Reparatur für den Elektroroller?

Das kommt darauf an!

Liegt beim Roller ein Schaden vor, den Du selbst verursacht hast, wirst Du den Schaden vermutlich selbst zahlen müssen. Ggf. greift aber eine Versicherung. Ein Blick in die eigenen Versicherungsunterlagen kann sich an dieser Stelle durchaus lohnen.

Wurde der Roller sachgemäß benutzt und liegt dennoch ein Mangel vor, z.B. weil der Roller bei Lieferung schon einen Defekt hatte, oder aber beispielsweise eine schlechte Verarbeitung zu einem späteren Mangel geführt hat, ist in der Regel Dein direkter Vertragspartner der richtige Ansprechpartner. Das kann entweder der Hersteller sein, bei dem Du direkt gekauft hast, oder ein Händler. Wichtig ist zunächst, was genau in Deinem Vertrag vereinbart ist. Enthält Dein Vertrag z.B. eine Garantie für mehrere Jahre, kannst Du Dich ggf. auf diese Garantie berufen. Allerdings kommt es auch darauf an, wofür genau eine Garantie abgegeben wurde. Oft gibt es nämlich Garantien nur für den Akku, nicht aber für den Rest des Rollers.

Sollte der Vertrag keine Garantie oder ähnliche Zusätze (z.B. „Verkäufer übernimmt Reparaturen jeglicher Art für zwei Jahre ab Kaufvertragsabschluss“) enthalten, ist die Frage, ob Du gesetzliche Gewährleistungsrechte gegen den Verkäufer geltend machen kannst. Du musst den Vertragspartner dann (schriftlich, mit einer Frist von mindestens 2 Wochen) dazu auffordern, diesen Mangel zu beseitigen. Der Vertragspartner muss den Elektroroller dann entweder auf eigene Kosten reparieren, oder Dir einen neuen E-Roller zur Verfügung stellen. Unter Umständen kann auch Schadensersatz, Minderung des Kaufpreises oder ein Rücktritt vom Vertrag in Frage kommen, das hängt aber von den Umständen des Einzelfalls ab. Die gesetzlichen Gewährleistungsansprüche verjähren nach 2 Jahren ab Ablieferung des Rollers.

Wie lange besteht eine Garantie für einen Elektroroller?

Zunächst ist zu klären, ob Dein Vertragspartner überhaupt eine Garantie abgegeben hat; dazu ist er nämlich rechtlich nicht verpflichtet. Garantien können vom Verkäufer zusätzlich zu den gesetzlich bestehenden Mängelrechten des Käufers abgegeben werden. Oft garantiert der Verkäufer über die gesetzlichen Verjährungsfristen für Mängelrechte (2 Jahre) hinaus für einen längeren Zeitraum anfallende Reparaturkosten zu übernehmen, um einen zusätzlichen Kaufanreiz zu bieten. Ob eine solche Garantie im Einzelfall vom Verkäufer abgegeben wurde, kannst Du i.d.R. dem Kaufvertrag entnehmen.

Wichtig: Garantien werden oftmals nur unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen gegeben, z.B. bei Wahrnehmung regelmäßiger Inspektionstermine o.ä.  

Wo kann ich meinen Elektroroller reparieren lassen?

Wer hätte es gedacht: In einer Werkstatt! Es gibt mittlerweile viele Werkstätten, die sich auf die Reparatur von Elektrorollern spezialisiert haben. Solltest Du konkreten Reparaturbedarf bei Deinem Elektroroller haben, empfehlen wir Dir, Dich an den Verkäufer des Rollers zu wenden. Das kann entweder der Hersteller selbst sein, wenn dieser direkt verkauft, oder aber ein Händler. Sowohl Hersteller als auch Händler arbeiten in der Regel mit einem Service-Netzwerk aus vielen Werkstätten zusammen. In den meisten Fällen hilft schon ein Blick auf die Homepage Deines Vertragspartners.